The Night of Fatigued Desperation: Round I

Well. It’s 11:31 on a Sunday night and this blog is coming to you a week late. Hoo rah. Last weekend was the Austin City Limits music festival, coupled with midterms and all of the joys that accompany that. So I’m a week late on this. And I’m also tired from the events of this weekend, which I will describe in greater detail with the blog that will probably be posted shortly after this one. As in the blog that’s actually due tonight. And just a heads up – if this post is incoherent or irrelevant to what I’m actually supposed to be talking about, I apologize. It’s been a long three weeks without sleep. To make up for it, please enjoy my favorite GIF of all time:

tumblr_mf0ra85F5D1r7dumfo1_250

Now then. In response to this essay over the Enola Gay controversy, I will discuss my immediate thoughts while reading it.

When I was deciding whether to switch my major from Anthropology to History (because declaring a history major was inevitable for me and I don’t know why I didn’t do it in the first place), my first thought was, “Even though I love history and want to earn my degree in it, I actually want to have a job after college that doesn’t involve teaching.” I figured, well, if I don’t want to teach, maybe I can curate a museum or something. I like museums. It sounds like a great time to do research and build exhibits. But then I read Linenthal’s essay. Ahem. I had no idea that so much controversy surrounded these kinds of things. I mean, now that I think about it, all of the controversy seems inevitable . . . but do you really have to deal with this kind of thing on a daily basis as a museum curator? Damn. Maybe this is just my current mood talking, but I don’t want to have to deal with people complaining to me over something I worked hard on.

But in all seriousness, I can see and associate with all of the sides who weren’t happy with the finished product of the Enola Gay exhibit. I never thought about how it really is impossible to describe historical events without some hint of subjectivity included. With something as controversial as the bombs over Hiroshima and Nagasaki, it is virtually impossible to present the facts without any ulterior opinions.

Please excuse that sub-par performance. On to Round II!

Leave a Reply

